News & Honours

Sharon Mortimer elected as Member by Royal Society of Biology
November 5, 2019Sharon Mortimer, Adjunct Member of the Division of Endocrinology and Infertility, was elected as a Member by the Royal Society of Biology’s Council on October 1, 2019. Congratulations, Sharon! Read More >

Celebrate our Great Supervisors
November 5, 2019Each year in May, UBC Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies organizes ‘Great Supervisor Week,’ during which graduate students are encouraged to give kudos to their outstanding mentors through social media. This year, Reproductive and Developmental Sciences Co-Directors Dr. Alexander Beristain and Dr. Paul Yong, along with Dr. Mohamed Bedaiwy (pictured above), Dr. Michael Anglesio, Dr. Sarka Lisonkova, […] Read More >

Congratulations to Dr. David Huntsman!
September 25, 2019Congratulations to Dr. David Huntsman, one of three members of the UBC Faculty of Medicine to be elected to the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). Dr. David Huntsman is the Dr. Chew Wei Memorial Professor of Gynaecologic Oncology, holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Molecular and Genomic Pathology, and is a Professor in […] Read More >

2019 Faculty of Medicine Awards
September 17, 2019The members of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology have been very successful in the 2019 Faculty of Medicine Awards this year.  We’d like to congratulate the following: For a list of all awards and the successful recipients please visit Read More >

Congratulations to Dr. Deborah Money!
September 6, 2019  Congratulations to our very own Dr. Deborah Money, MD, FRCSC, on being the recipient of the prestigious 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Infectious Diseases Society for Obstetrics and Gynecology (IDSOG).  The award recognizes Dr. Money for her outstanding contributions to improving women’s health through scientific exchange, education, and leadership in infectious diseases in […] Read More >

Associate Head of Research
August 6, 2019Dear colleagues It is my pleasure to inform you that Janice Kwon from the Division of Gynaecologic Oncology has accepted the position as Associate Head of Research as of 1 August 2019.  Janice has been with the Department since 2008 and is an Associate Professor.  She is currently the Program Director for the Gynaecologic Oncology Fellowship. I would […] Read More >

Announcing the 2019 MSFHR Scholar Award Recipients
July 19, 2019    Congratulations to our very own Drs. Sarah Munro, Aline Talhouk, and Michael Anglesio, whose projects have been selected for funding by the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MFHR) Scholar Program! Drs. Munro, Talhouk, and Anglesio are among 20 exceptional BC-based health researchers named as 2019 Scholar award recipients. The MSFHR Scholar Program […] Read More >

Congratulations to Fertile Future!
July 11, 2019Fertile Future is a Canadian national non-profit organization that provides fertility preservation information and support services to cancer patients and oncology professionals. UBC REI has strong representation with Drs. Dunne and Roberts on the board of directors and Dr. Nakhuda on the Vancouver gala committee. The Division is very involved in Fertile Future lobby work across […] Read More >

Congratulations to Dr. Caitlin Dunne!
July 10, 2019A big congratulations to Dr. Caitlin Dunne, who has been named to Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 List for 2019.   Dr. Dunne is a clinical assistant professor in the department of obstetrics and gynaecology and a partner and co-director at the Pacific Centre for Reproductive Medicine (PCRM). She specializes in fertility and egg freezing and […] Read More >

Announcing the 2019 WHRI Catalyst Grants: LOI due August 1
July 8, 2019The Women’s Health Research Institute, in partnership with the BC Women’s Health Foundation, is pleased to announce the 2019 Catalyst Grant competition for the advancement of knowledge in women’s and newborn’s health. A total of six grants will be awarded at $25,000 each. Like last year, there is a required letter of intent which is […] Read More >