Prospective Supervisors

The principal scientists providing research supervision in the Reproductive and Developmental Sciences graduate program are listed below.
Securing a research supervisor commitment prior to application is highly recommended.

M. Anglesio
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Gynecological cancer, endometriosis, microenvironment, model systems, genomic pathology, molecular biology, cancer prevention
Email: m.anglesio@ubc.ca

H. Bayrampour
Midwifery Program, Department of Family Practice
Research interests: Maternal mental health, anxiety, and pregnancy outcomes
Email: hamideh.bayrampour@ubc.ca

M.A. Bedaiwy
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Endometriosis, steroid receptors, reproductive and molecular endocrinology, minimally invasive and robotic surgery
Email: mohamed.bedaiwy@cw.bc.ca

A. Beristain
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Trophoblast biology and human placentation
Email: aberista@mail.ubc.ca

L. Brotto
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Sexual psychophysiology and gynaecologic oncology
Email: lori.brotto@vch.ca

M. Carey
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Translational research in gynecologic cancers: molecular characteristics, biomarkers of response/progression, and effects of steroid hormone receptors
Email: mark.carey@vch.ca

R. Cerri
Department of Applied Animal Biology, Faculty of Land and Food Systems
Research interests: Nutrition, health, and management of early pregnancy in cows
Email: ronaldo.cerri@ubc.ca

A. Cheung
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Research interests: Polycystic ovary syndrome and ovarian physiology
Email: acheung@fertilitywithgrace.com

A. Devlin
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Diet, epigenetics, and metabolic programming
Email: angela.devlin@bcchr.ubc.ca

X. Dong
Department of Urologic Sciences
Research interests: Steroid receptors, RNA splicing factors in cancers and reproduction systems
Email: xdong@prostatecentre.com

R. Elango
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Nutrition, protein and amino acid requirements, and metabolism during pregnancy
Email: relango@bcchr.ubc.ca

B. Gilks
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Research interests: Histopathological and immunohistochemical studies of gynecological cancers
Email: blake.gilks@vch.ca

G. Hanley
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Research interests: Gynaecologic health services research, population-based gynaecologic cancer research, prescription drug use during pregnancy
Email: gillian.hanley@vch.ca

J. Hutcheon
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Maternal and newborn population health, perinatal epidemiology research methods
Email: jhutcheon@bcchr.ca

K.S. Joseph
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Research interests: Maternal, fetal, and infant health services research
Email: kjoseph@cw.bc.ca

P.C.K. Leung
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Reproductive and molecular endocrinology
Email: peter.leung@ubc.ca

S. Lisonkova
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interest: Pre-eclampsia
Email: slisonkova@bcchr.ca

S. Mitchell
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Northern Medical Program, Prince George BC
Research interests: Reproductive health of marginalized women, cervical cancer screening, perinatal substance use
Email: sheona.mitchell-foster@ubc.ca

D. Money
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Perinatal transmission of viral pathogens and infectious etiology of preterm labour
Email: dmoney@cw.bc.ca

T. Oberlander
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Population epidemiological studies characterizing neurodevelopmental pathways that reflect risk, resiliency, and developmental plasticity
Email: toberlander@bcchr.ca

W. Robinson
Department of Medical Genetics
Research interests: Genetic and epigenetic aspects of reproduction/human development
Email: wrobinson@bcchr.ca

J. Ting
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Neonatal haemodynamics, neonatal infectious diseases, epidemiology & outcomes
Email: jting2-02@cw.bc.ca

P. Yong
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Endometriosis, chronic pelvic pain, and minimally invasive surgery
Email: pyong@cw.bc.ca