2019 Division of Gynaecologic Oncology Research Award Competition results

The Division of Gynaecologic Oncology launched its annual Research Award Competition in the fall of 2019. The selection process was highly competitive, as there were many excellent applications submitted.

There were 2 projects that were awarded funding. The first was awarded to Dr. Ji-Hyun Jang, fellow in Gynaecologic Oncology. Her proposal is to develop a survivorship pathway after risk-reducing bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy for premenopausal women. This proposal was preceded by her recent study linking PharmaNet prescription records of HRT with MSP data on premenopausal oophorectomy. This study revealed that only 50% of premenopausal women having oophorectomy are ever prescribed HRT. This means that a significant number of women having this procedure are at risk for downstream health consequences such as osteoporosis and coronary heart disease. Her project aims to optimize HRT use after premenopausal oophorectomy, through education to patients and their health care providers. By improving HRT use, this should translate into improved quality of life, reduced long-term health risks, and increased overall life expectancy.

Dr. Ji-Hyun Jang


The 2nd award goes to Dr. Lesa Dawson, gynaecologic oncologist from Memorial University in Newfoundland, who is currently on sabbatical at BC Cancer with the Hereditary Cancer Program. Dr. Dawson’s project focuses on Lynch Syndrome in British Columbia. Lynch Syndrome is a hereditary cancer syndrome characterized by very high lifetime risks of endometrial, ovarian, and colorectal cancer. Her project aims to evaluate the uptake of gynaecologic cancer risk-reducing interventions such as screening and surgery among women with Lynch Syndrome in BC, and determine which personal or health system factors are correlated with adherence to these interventions. The goal is to develop a world class Lynch Syndrome registry in BC that can facilitate gynaecologic cancer prevention to women at highest risk.

Dr. Lesa Dawson







Big congratulations to both Dr. Jang and Dr. Dawson on their achievements!