Research News

Congratulations to Dr. Deborah Money!
September 6, 2019  Congratulations to our very own Dr. Deborah Money, MD, FRCSC, on being the recipient of the prestigious 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Infectious Diseases Society for Obstetrics and Gynecology (IDSOG).  The award recognizes Dr. Money for her outstanding contributions to improving women’s health through scientific exchange, education, and leadership in infectious diseases in […] Read More >

Faculty of Medicine – Summer Student Research Program (SSRP) Students – OBGYN Department
August 27, 2019The department was happy to host six Summer Student Research Program students from the Faculty of Medicine this summer: Gabriel Chan worked with Dr. Ken Lim and Dr. Mohamed Elgendi on a project entitled: “A Pilot Study to Determine the Optimal Finger for Hypertension and Preeclampsia Assessment Using Pulse Oximeter Collection”. Michelle Lisonek worked with […] Read More >

Announcing the 2019 MSFHR Scholar Award Recipients
July 19, 2019    Congratulations to our very own Drs. Sarah Munro, Aline Talhouk, and Michael Anglesio, whose projects have been selected for funding by the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MFHR) Scholar Program! Drs. Munro, Talhouk, and Anglesio are among 20 exceptional BC-based health researchers named as 2019 Scholar award recipients. The MSFHR Scholar Program […] Read More >

Announcing the 2019 WHRI Catalyst Grants: LOI due August 1
July 8, 2019The Women’s Health Research Institute, in partnership with the BC Women’s Health Foundation, is pleased to announce the 2019 Catalyst Grant competition for the advancement of knowledge in women’s and newborn’s health. A total of six grants will be awarded at $25,000 each. Like last year, there is a required letter of intent which is […] Read More >

June 17, 2019On June 4th, the Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Minister of Health, Government of Canada, announced an investment of $10 million toward national cervical cancer research in partnership with BC Women’s Health Foundation. This funding will help to support the BC Gynaecologic Cancer Initiative in its efforts to eliminate cervical cancer. The BC Women’s Health Foundation […] Read More >

2019 Resident Research Orientation
June 14, 2019        Our residents who are wrapping up their PGY1 year got to engage in a full day of learning at our annual Resident Research Orientation on June 6th, 2019.  Topics covered include resident research expectations, critical literature appraisal, library resources, study design, ethics approval process, privacy in the context of research, biostatistics […] Read More >

12th Annual Lectureship in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery 2019 – A Success!
June 13, 2019The 12th Annual Lectureship in Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery was a success!  Dr. Magali Robert gave a wonderful lecture on “Vaginal Mesh and Chronic Pain: the evidence, management and outcomes” which was followed by a research seminar where research ideas/works in progress were presented. Read More >

Fourth Annual Women’s Health Research Symposium – May 31, 2019
March 29, 2019The Fourth Annual Women’s Health Research Symposium will be held on Friday, May 31, 2019 at the Vancouver Convention Centre East. The Symposium is being hosted by the Women’s Health Research Institute and will be an opportunity to showcase some of the amazing women’s health research taking place in BC and beyond. This year’s focus […] Read More >

DA Boyes Memorial Research Award
March 11, 2019We received 8 applications for the DA Boyes Memorial Research award for Trainees. The Awards Committee reviewed the applications and as per the terms of reference for the award “Applications addressing questions encountered by trainees and others in front-line practice, and projects that will be primarily executed by trainees” were prioritized. The Committee felt that the trainee applications were all interesting and several […] Read More >

Highlights from the 9th Annual Fred Bryans Faculty Forum
February 5, 2019The 9th Annual Dr. Fred Bryans Faculty Forum took place on Thursday, January 31, 2019 at the SFU Harbour Centre in downtown Vancouver. We started the Forum with a workshop on grant proposal development co-led by Amber Hui (WHRI/BCCHR) and Dawn McArthur (BCCHR). Amber and Dawn led 30 department members through the grant development process. […] Read More >