News & Honours

Welcome to Dr. Katrina Bouchard
January 13, 2022Dr. Katrina Bouchard is thrilled to (finally) begin her appointment as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the UBC Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. She joins the Department after having completed a SSHRC-funded PhD in clinical psychology at Queen’s University and a postdoctoral fellowship at Dalhousie University funded by the IWK Health Centre. She is a […] Read More >

The Maternal-Fetal Medicine Subspecialty Residency Program welcomes Mary Ellen Conway and Élise Lavoie Lebel
December 7, 2021Dr. Conway (left) completed her medical school at McMaster University before attending UBC for residency in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Prior to entering medicine, she completed a Degree in Physical and Health Education at Queen’s University Dr. Lavoie Lebel (right) completed medical school at Laval University in Quebec City, then moved to the prairies for her […] Read More >

Nomination for Staff Service Awards 2021 – Deadline 7 January 2022
November 24, 2021We are pleased to call for nominations for the 2021 Staff Service Awards.  I would encourage you to review all staff who work with you in a Departmental capacity for these awards. Please review the information sheet and application form outlining the details of the award and a application form on the second page. The deadline for submission […] Read More >

Improving Access to Care at the BC Centre for Vulvar Health
November 9, 2021We are thrilled to announce that the BC Centre for Vulvar Health has received funding for two exciting projects! Dr Melanie Altas, Director of the BCCVH, in partnership with Dr Kaitlyn Goldsmith, a psychologist at the West Coast Centre for Sex Therapy and lecturer with the Department of Psychology, has received a Partners in Care […] Read More >

Congratulations to Drs Brotto and Todd
November 9, 2021We would like to congratulate the following faculty members in the most recent round of FoM awards. Dr Lori Brotto – Awards for Excellence in Mentoring Early Career Faculty Recognizes faculty members who have formally been identified as mentors and who exemplify a deep commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of faculty members […] Read More >

D. A. Boyes Memorial Award and Community Award
November 4, 2021The D. A. Boyes Society, in honor, and memory, of Dr. David Alexander Boyes’ lifetime commitment to teaching and engagement announce the fourth year of the Memorial Research Award. This is a grant competition designed to provide critical review, with rapid turn-around, and funding for proposals that would not be eligible to receive funding at […] Read More >

MIS Program Welcomes Dr. Tinya Lin!
September 7, 2021  The OBGYN Advanced Training in Endometriosis, Pelvic Pain, and Advanced Laparoscopy Program welcomes Dr. Tinya Lin. She is currently completing a clinical fellowship in the Advanced Training Program in Endometriosis, Pelvic Pain, and Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery. She completed medical school at the University of Western Ontario, followed by residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at […] Read More >

Distinguished Achievement Award Winners in OBGYN
August 9, 2021We would like to congratulate our department award winners Drs. Hanley and Money. Service to the University and Community – Dr. Deborah Money Recognizes significant contributions to local, national, or international communities aimed at improved health outcomes of the population.   Overall Excellence – Early Career – Dr. Gillian Hanley Recognizes outstanding contributions in the […] Read More >

Congratulations CIHR Grant Recipients!
July 28, 2021Congratulations to our OBGYN investigators who were awarded funding through the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Project Grant Spring 2021 competition. Project Grants Project: “Improving access to family planning services for Indigenous peoples through storytelling” [link]. Principal Investigator: Dr. Sarah Munro (UBC OBGYN) et al. | UBC OBGYN Co-investigator: Dr. Wendy Norman (Affiliate UBC […] Read More >

Meet Your New CFAC Representative – Dr. Jennifer Yam
July 19, 2021The Clinical Faculty Affairs Committee (CFAC) is an advisory committee to the Director, Clinical Faculty Affairs on the academic policy concerns of the clinical faculty as they relate to appointment and promotion, recognition and remuneration, faculty educational development, Faculty of Medicine representation and other issues of this nature. Dr. Jennifer Yam is the new representative for OBGYN. […] Read More >