Dr. Wendy Norman is an Associate Professor in the Department of Family Practice and an associate member in the School of Population and Public Health and the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of British Columbia. Dr. Norman is the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Public Health Agency of Canada Chair in Family Planning Public Health Research, and holds a Scholar award from the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research for her family planning research program. In 2015, Dr. Norman received the prestigious international Darroch Award from the Guttmacher Institute for her work that combines excellence in research with practical application to public policy and programs in the field of sexual and reproductive health.

She and her team are based in the Women’s Health Research Institute of BC Women’s Hospital and she leads the national collaboration; Canadian Contraception Access Research Team/Groupe de recherche sur l’accessibilite a la contraception (CARTGRAC

Norman completed a Canadian Institutes of Health Research Strategic Research Training Fellowship in Primary Healthcare Research, the UBC Department of Family Practice Clinician Scholars Program and a Masters of Health Science. 

Research Interests/Skills

• Family Planning Health Services
• Contraception
• Abortion
• Youth healthy sexuality
• Population health
• Family Planning Health Professional Education


1. Samiedaluie S, Peterson S, Brant R, Kaczorowski J, Norman WV. Validating abortion procedure coding in British Columbia administrative database. BMC Health Services Research 2016 16:255. DOI: 10.1186/s12913-016-1485-4
2. Norman WV, Soon J.A. Requiring physicians to dispense mifepristone: an unnecessary limit on safety and access for medical abortion. CMAJ 2016 Dec 6 188:E429-E430 PMID: 27754893
3. Wong E, Leslie JJT, Soon JA, Norman WV. Measuring interprofessional competencies and attitudes among health professional students creating family planning virtual patient cases. BMC Medical Education 2016 Oct 19;16(1):273.
4. Norman WV, Mazza D. Calling a Spade a Spoon: Are non-American donors likely to need the same “reshaping” of terms for International Family Planning? World Health and Population. 2016 Sept 17(1): 21-25. doi:10.12927/whp.2016.25040
5. Troskie C, Soon J, Albert A, Norman, WV. Regulatory approval time for hormonal contraception in Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom, 2000-2015: a retrospective data analysis. CMAJ Open. 2016 Nov 3. 4:4. DOI: 10.9778/cmajo.20160017.
6. Rieb LM, Norman WV, Martin RE, Berkowitz J, Wood E, McNeil R, Milloy MJ. Withdrawal-associated injury site pain (WISP): A descriptive case series of an opioid cessation phenomenon. PAIN 2016 Dec; 157(12):2865-2874
7. Henning PA, Burgess, CK Jones, HE, Norman WV. The effects of asking a fertility intention question in primary care settings: a systematic review protocol. Syst Rev. 2017 Jan 19;6(1):11. doi: 10.1186/s13643-017-0412-z. PMID: 28103918.
8. Norman WV, Downie J. Abortion care in Canada is decided between a woman and her doctor, without recourse to criminal law. BMJ. 2017 March 24.
9. Asgharpour M, Villareal S, Schummers L, Hutcheon J, Shaw D, Norman, WV. Inter-pregnancy interval and pregnancy outcomes among women with delayed childbearing: Protocol for a systematic review. Syst Rev. 2017 Apr 8;6(1):75. doi: 10.1186/s13643-017-0464-0.
10. Black A, Guilbert E, Costescu, D, Dunn S, Fisher W, Kives S, Mirosh M, Norman WV, et al. Canadian Contraception Consensus Guidelines No. 329-(Part 4 of 4) Chapter 9: Combined Hormonal Contraception. ). J Obstet Gynaecol Can 2017 Apr;39(4): 229-268.e5.
11. Norman WV, Dickens BM. Abortion by telemedicine: an equitable option for Irish women. BMJ. 2017 May 16. doi: 10.1136/bmj.j2011
12. Strong MJ, Busing N, Goosney DL, Harris K, Horsley T, Kuzyk A, Lingard L, Norman WV, Rosenblum ND, Saryeddine T, Wang X. The rising challenge of training the Physician Scientist: Recommendations of the Canadian Consensus Conference. Academic Medicine. 2017 Aug 16. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000001857.
13. Burgess CK, Henning PA, Norman WV, Manze MG, Jones HE. A systematic review of the effect of reproductive intention screening in primary care settings on reproductive health outcomes. Family Practice (Accepted manuscript, 2017 Aug 11)
14. Jones HE, O’Connell White K, Norman WV, Guilbert E, Lichtenberg, ES, Paul, M. First trimester medication abortion practice in the United States and Canada. PLoS One (Accepted Manuscript, 2017 Sept xx)
15. Burgess C, Henning P, Norman WV, Manzed M, & H, Jonesa. A systematic review of the effect of reproductive intention screening in primary care settings on reproductive health outcomes. Family Practice, 2017, 1–10.



Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, B.C. Women’s Hospital. Mifepristone implementation in Canada (The CART-Mife Study)

CIHR: Partnerships in Health Systems Improvements. Contraception Access Research Team – Contraception Cost-effectiveness Modeling (CART-CCM)

CIHR: Planning Grant. Planning to develop the research program VICToRS: Virtual Interprofessional Case-learning Tools for improving Real Service

2015 Darroch Award for Excellence in Sexual and Reproductive Health Policy Research. The Guttmacher Institute, NY, NY.

Enid Johnson MacLeod Award. The Federation of Medical Women of Canada, September 2015.

2015 PHSA+ Awards – Individual Category.

John Snow Prize. Awarded by the Department of Health Care and Epidemiology, UBC, March 2000.

G. F. Amyot Award. Department of Health Care and Epidemiology, UBC, May 2015.

2015 Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Award for Excellence in Clinical or Applied Research. UBC, May 2015.