Research News

Feature Researcher: Alexander G. Beristain
July 4, 2017Alexander G. Beristain is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Maternal Fetal Medicine. He received his Ph.D. (Reproductive and Developmental Sciences) from UBC Dept of OBGYN in 2007, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. Rama Khokha at the Ontario Cancer Institute in 2012. He holds a New Investigator research grant from Sick Kids […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Sarka Lisonkova, MD, PhD
June 15, 2017Dr Sarka Lisonkova is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Maternal Fetal Medicine and an Associate Faculty member in the School of Population and Public Health. She obtained her medical degree from Palacky University, Olomouc, Czech Republic before studying epidemiology in the US and Canada. She obtained an MSc in Epidemiology from the State University […] Read More >

New $1.4 M CIHR Project Grant brings together three sites across the department to define the maternal legacy
May 29, 2017Dr Deborah Money’s most recent CIHR Project Grant, “Defining the maternal legacy: Does mode of delivery impact the role of the maternal vaginal microbiome in predicting the infant gut microbiome?”, will bring together senior, mid-level and junior investigators from across the department and across the province to develop a deeper understanding of the potential role […] Read More >

Research on cancer-related gene mutations in endometriosis featured in the Vancouver Sun
May 12, 2017Dr Micheal Anglesio and Dr Paul Yong’s collaborative research studying cancer-related gene mutations in endometriosis is featured in the Vancouver Sun. Read more about this groundbreaking departmental research. This work is also published in the New England Journal of Medicine and the findings will be presented at the 13th World Congress on Endometriosis in Vancouver May 17 to […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Flora Teng, M.D.
May 1, 2017Dr. Teng completed her Bachelor’s Degree at McGill University, followed by a Master of Public Health at Yale University.  She went on to obtain her Medical Degree and OB/GYN specialty training from the University of British Columbia. She earned the Dr. H.A. Henderson Memorial Medal for Obstetrics and Gynaecology in 2009 and was  awarded the Robert […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Marette Lee, FRCSC, MPH
April 3, 2017  Marette Lee received her medical degree from the University of Alberta, and completed her Obstetrics & Gynaecology residency at Queen’s University. She did a fellowship in Gynaecologic Oncology with UBC (2009-11) and a Master’s degree in Public Health (2011-2015) from John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Dr Lee was appointed a Clinical Assistant […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Jennifer Hutcheon, Ph.D.
February 14, 2017Dr. Hutcheon became an Assistant Professor with UBC, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology in 2011, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2016.  She received her Ph.D. (Epidemiology & Biostatistics) from McGill University in 2009, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. K.S. Joseph in 2010. She holds a CIHR New Investigator award (2012-2017) and […] Read More >

STRIDER Canada is now recruiting in British Columbia
February 6, 2017STRIDER Canada is a clinical trial to assess whether, in pregnancies with early onset intrauterine fetal growth restriction (IUGR) if sildenafil improves blood flow to the baby, improving health and thereby allowing doctors to wait longer for delivery. The increased awareness for the participant population is unique to this study as there is currently no […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Paul Yong, MD, PhD, FRCSC
February 1, 2017Paul Yong  completed a MD/PhD degree in Experimental Medicine in 2006 and completed Residency in Obstetrics & Gynaecology in 2011 at UBC. He became an Assistant Professor in the UBC Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Division of Gynaecologic Specialties, in 2012, after completing a fellowship in endometriosis, pelvic pain, and advanced laparoscopic surgery. To date […] Read More >

Feature Researcher: Jessica McAlpine, MD, FRCPC
January 29, 2017Jessica McAlpine is an Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at UBC. She is a Gynecologic Oncologist and Translational Researcher with British Columbia Cancer Agency, and has served as Tumor/Tissue Bank Director of OVCARE for Vancouver General Hospital and the BC Cancer Agency since 2012. Read More >