D. A. Boyes Community Teaching Award

The D. A. Boyes Society, in honor, and memory, of Dr. David Alexander Boyes’ lifetime commitment to teaching and engagement of the medical communities of British Columbia, created the Community Teaching Award in 2018.

This Award is bestowed annually on a British Columbia or Yukon community which shows exceptional commitment toward Undergraduate and/or Resident education in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

In addition to the public recognition of this distinction, the community receiving the Award will be eligible for a financial grant up to $5000, to be directed towards the sponsorship of a Visiting Lectureship and/or Mentorship by an expert of the community’s choice.

The recipient community is selected by a panel consisting of the Directors of Undergraduate and Residency Education as well as members of the Department Executive.


2018 Northern Medical Program
2019 Kamloops – Southern Medical Program
2020 Victoria – Island Medical Program
2021 Lions Gate
2022 Whitehorse

2023 Royal Columbian Hospital